Pumpkin Pie

Ever since I was a little kid my favorite pie has been pumpkin pie. I used to help my mom make them around holiday time to eat at home and to bring to Gramma’s house. Mostly, I just mixed all the ingredients to make the filling and my mom would make the crust. I got good enough where before too long I was good enough to make the filling without supervision.

One thing I discovered way back then is that I really liked cloves. I liked the smell; I liked the taste, and that’s still true today. So, I always add double the amount of cloves that the recipe calls for just to give it that extra little spice-kick. Have you ever eaten one of those store-bought pies that are just kind of flavorless globs of blah? Yeah? Well, not enough cloves! Trust me on this one. Don’t overdo it though because it’ll get bitter if you go overboard. 1/2 tsp is fine.

Anyway, so I had to borrow a stock photo of a pumpkin pie because we cut into the pies and ate them so fast that I didn’t get a chance to get photos of the finished pie. No, not even a slice. They’re gone. It didn’t take long, nor did it take effort.

pie-filling

Now it may seem odd but I use the tried and true pumpkin pie recipe from Libby’s. I also use Libby’s canned pumpkin. I’ve tried some of the organic brands that are out there and I like those too, but I think as far as your run of the mill canned pumpkin Libby’s has a good flavor and consistency. I’ve tried some generics and store brands that are watery or just not quite right.

Pumpkin Pie Filling

3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
2 large eggs
1 can (15 oz.) LIBBY’S® 100% Pure Pumpkin
1 can (12 fl. oz.) NESTLÉ® CARNATION® Evaporated Milk
1 unbaked 9-inch (4-cup volume) deep-dish pie shell

crust-tweak

If you’re going to buy a pie crust, I strongly recommend Trader Joe’s frozen pie crust. If you don’t have a Trader Joe’s near you, first, I’m terribly sorry. Second, I recommend making your own because other frozen brands are dissappointing at best.

Basic Pie Crust

1-1/3 C AP Flour
1/2 C Crisco or vegetable shortening
1/2 tsp kosher salt (using a 1/2 tsp of regular salt will make the pie crust come out just slightly bitter, so use just slightly less than 1/2 tsp, like somewhere between 1/3 and 1/2, if you only have regular salt)3 T ice water

  • Mix flour and salt in mixing bowl. Cut shortening into the flour with a pastry cutter until mixture resembles the texture of tiny split peas.
  • Add ice water and combine with fork (using a folding motion). Dough should not be too crumbly, if it is just add about a T more water and combine with fork until you have the right texture. Adding too much water will make the crust flat and not flaky, but crust will not hold shape if not enough water is added.
  • Gather dough into a ball and flatten into a disk. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate at least 30 minutes.
  • Remove dough from refrigerator. Using a floured rolling pin roll dough disk out on lightly floured surface from the center out, forming a 12 inch circle. To transfer dough, carefully roll it around the rolling pin, lift, and unroll dough into 9 inch pie plate.

I had a little help from Jen toward the end. The dough warmed from me handling it just a little too much and became unmanagable for my practiced hand. Give this recipe a shot and try your hand at making pie crust. Get the kids involved with this one too and maybe, like me, they’ll grow up with a draw toward the kitchen.

 

Leave a Reply

